2022 Tim Hortons Brier playoffs: TV channel, time, how to watch the tiebreaker and the final

The 2022 Tim Hortons Brier is coming to an end and soon a winner will be crowned.

The Canadian Curling Championship kicked off March 4 and after seven days of competition the field is ready for the playoffs.

They are the usual suspects who advanced from the pool game. The teams of Kevin Koe and Brad Gushue finished top of their group, earning a bye to the first round of the playoffs. Gushue’s Wild Card 1 team went undefeated against their eight opponents in Pool B while Koe’s Alberta team went 7-1, losing only to Matt Dunstone and Wild Card 2 team.

Brendan Bottcher’s Canadian team was the other team to qualify from Group A to join Brad Jacobs’ Northern Ontario team from Group B.

Friday morning will see a tiebreaker in Groups A and B to determine the final two teams for the playoffs. On Sheet A, Dunstone and Team Wild Card 2 will take on Colton Flasch and Team Saskatchewan. On Sheet C, Jason Gunnlaugson and Team Wild Card 3 will take on Mike McEwen and Team Manitoba.

Here’s everything you need to know about the 2022 Tim Hortons Brier Playoffs.

MORE: Tim Hortons Brier 2022: Results, Standings, Schedule and TV Channel

When will the 2022 Tim Hortons Brier playoffs take place?

The playoffs for this year’s tournament will begin on Friday, March 11 with a tiebreaker at 10:30 a.m. ET, with the final set to close the competition on Sunday, March 13 at 8 p.m. ET.

2022 Tim Hortons Brier Broadcast Schedule
Day Time (ET) Round TV channel
Friday March 11 10:30 a.m. Tiebreaker NST 1
Friday March 11 2:30 p.m. Playoff 1 NST 1
Friday March 11 8:30 p.m. Playoff 2 TSN 1/4
Saturday March 12 3:30 p.m. Elimination Pages NST 1
Saturday March 12 8:30 p.m. Elimination Pages NST 1/5
Sunday March 13 1 p.m. Semi final NST 1
Sunday March 13 8 p.m. Final TSN 1/4

What channel is the 2022 Tim Hortons Brier airing on in Canada?

The 2022 Tim Hortons Brier airs on TSN and RDS in French with live streaming available on TSN Direct, TSN.ca and the TSN app. Fans in the United States can watch the tournament on ESPN3.

Legendary Canadian curling voice Vic Rauter and Bryan Mudryk have the call on hand in Lethbridge, Alberta. They will be joined by three-time Scotties champion Cathy Gauthier and 2006 Olympic gold medalist, multiple Brier winner and world men’s curling champion Russ Howard.

Where is the 2022 Tim Hortons Brier taking place?

The tournament is hosted at the ENMAX Center in Lethbridge, Alberta.

According to Curling Canada, a total of 48,456 fans have attended the event so far.

MORE: Tim Hortons Brier: Why is Canada’s men’s curling championship called the Brier?

What is Tim Hortons Brier Bursary 2022?

With 18 teams competing in 2022, the amounts awarded have decreased slightly (down $5,000 each for first, second and third) to accommodate the additional teams.

Here is the breakdown for 2022:

Total scholarship: $300,000

1st: $100,000
2nd: $60,000
3rd: $40,000
Championship pool (4th-8th): $15,000
Non-championship group (9th-18th): $2,500

The winner of the 2022 Brier will represent Canada at the 2022 LGT World Men’s Curling Championship in Las Vegas which runs from April 2-10.

Who has won the last 10 Tim Hortons Briers?

2012: Ontario (Glenn Howard, Wayne Middaugh, Brent Laing, Craig Savill)
2013: Northern Ontario (Brad Jacobs, Ryan Fry, EJ Harnden, Ryan Harnden)
2014 : Alberta (Kevin Koe, Pat Simmons, Carter Rycroft, Nolan Thiessen)
2015 : Canada (Pat Simmons, John Morris, Carter Rycroft, Nolan Thiessen)
2016: Alberta (Kevin Koe, Marc Kennedy, Brent Laing, Ben Hébert)
2017: Newfoundland and Labrador (Brad Gushue, Mark Nichols, Brett Gallant, Geoff Walker)
2018: Canada (Brad Gushue, Mark Nichols, Brett Gallant, Geoff Walker)
2019: Alberta (Kevin Koe, BJ Neufeld, Colton Flasch, Ben Hébert)
2020: Newfoundland and Labrador (Brad Gushue, Mark Nichols, Brett Gallant, Geoff Walker)
2021: Alberta (Brendan Bottcher, Darren Moulding, Brad Thiessen, Karrick Martin)

Comments are closed.